To Top

Buhari presents portfolios to Nigerian ministers; Fashola takes the most!

It is a great day in the history of Nigeria as Buhari finally douses the tensionwith the announcement of  portfolios to the Nigerian ministers in Abuja.

A few weeks back, the senate got the list of potential ministers who had to undergo some kind of scrutiny and yesterday, the 11th of November, 2015, Buhari presented them with their portfolios, just before they got sworn in.

As earlier hinted by President Muhammadu Buhari, he pruned down the ministries to 25, making some of the ministers, State ministers so that he ensured that he was in line with the law that stipulates that, every State is represented in the cabinet. He also appointed himself as the minister for Petroleum but nominated a State minister to man the affairs of the NNPC as you shall see in the list below:

  • 1. Chris Ngige (Anambra) Minister of Labour & Employment
  • 2. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti) Minister of Solid Minerals
  • 3. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers) Minister of Transportation
  • 4. Babatunde Fashola (Lagos) Minister of Power, Works and Housing
  • 5. Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano) Minister of Interior
  • 6. Aisha Alhassan (Taraba) Minister of Women Affairs
  • 7. Ogbonaya Onu (Ebonyi) Minister of Science and Technology
  • 8. Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) Minister of Finance
  • 9. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi) Minister of Justice
  • 10. Sen Hadi Sirika (Katsina) Minister of State, Aviation
  • 11. Barr. Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) Minister of Communication
  • 12. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa) Minister of Water Resources
  • 13. Solomon Dalong (Plateau) Minister for Youth and Sports
  • 14. Ibe Kachikwu (Delta) Minister of State, Petroleum
  • 15. Osagie Ehanire (Edo) Minister of State, Health
  • 16. Audu Ogbeh (Benue) Minister of Agriculture
  • 17. Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom) Minister of Budget & National Planning
  • 18. Lai Mohammed (Kwara) Minister of Information
  • 19. Amina Mohammed (Gombe) Minister of Environment
  • 20. Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa) Minister of State, Environment
  • 21. Hajia Khadija Bukar Ibrahim (Yobe) Minister of State, Foreign Affairs
  • 22. Cladius Omoleye Daramola (Ondo) Minister of State, Niger Delta
  • 23. Prof Anthony Onwuka (Imo) Minister of State, Education
  • 24. Geoffrey Onyema (Enugu) Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • 25. Dan Ali (Zamfara) Minister of Defence
  • 26. Barr James Ocholi (Kogi) Minister of State, Labour & Employment
  • 27. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) Minister of State Budget and National Planning
  • 28. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) Trade, Investment & Industry
  • 29. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) Minister of Federal Capital Territory
  • 30. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Bornu) Minister of State, Power
  • 31. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) Minister of State, Trade & Investment
  • 32. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa) Minister of State, Agriculture
  • 33. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) Minister of Education
  • 34. Isaac Adewole (Osun) Minister of Health
  • 35. Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Niger) Minister of State, Solid Minerals
  • 36. Pastor Usani Uguru (Cross River) Minister of Niger Delta
  • 37. President Muhammadu Buhari- Minister of Petroleum

From the list above, it is obvious that the man with the most responsibility is none other than, Babatunde Raji Fashola, the immediate past Executive Governor of Lagos State.Many had always assumed that he will play a vital role in the present Government of President Buhari and it looks like that assumption was made manifest. Not only has he been made a minister in the cabinet, he has been saddled with the most difficult areas in the country- power, works and housing. Should we be expecting the slogan, ‘Power is working, Fashola is working’ anytime soon?

We hope for the best as the ministers were reported by Channels News at 10 yesterday, to have gone in for their first cabinet meeting with the president, almost immediately after the swearing in. We love the pro-activeness but Nigerians, what are your expectations?

Photo Credit: NAN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Uncategorized